DataHaven is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors. Pictured below, L to R, are some of our Board members: Caroline Smith, Mark Abraham (staff), Penny Canny, Andrew Orefice, Kara Straun, Carl Amento (former member).

Photo credit: Harold Shapiro

DataHaven Board of Directors List

Penny Canny, DataHaven Board Chairperson. Penny has extensive experience as a nonprofit leader with a particular passion for research and data analysis. She has previously served as Senior Vice President for Grantmaking and Strategy at The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven, leading the Foundation’s efforts to build community knowledge and information. Prior to coming to The Community Foundation, she was managing director and director of research at Connecticut Voices for Children, a research-based policy and advocacy organization. Before joining Connecticut Voices for Children, Dr. Canny was assistant dean for the Yale School of Public Health where she also earned a Ph.D. in Chronic Disease Epidemiology and worked for many years as a senior research associate. She maintains an appointment at Yale's School of Public Health and serves on its Leadership Council and Centennial Committee. Dr. Canny also serves on the United Way of Greater New Haven's Community Impact Committee. 

Maritza Bond, Director of Health, City of New Haven

Adhlere Coffy, Director of Strategic Initiatives, Dalio Education Initiative, Dalio Philanthropies

Rick Dunne, Executive Director, Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments

Gina Federico, Director, North Hartford Triple Aim Collaborative, United Way of Central and Northeastern Connecticut 

Karyn Gilvarg, Director (Retired), New Haven City Plan Department

Nancy Hamson, Director of Strategy and Community Health Improvement, Yale-New Haven Health System 

Brita Roy, Assistant Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology, Yale School of Medicine, and Director of Population Health, Yale Medicine

Caroline Smith, Co-Director and Co-Founder, Collab 

Kara Straun, Knowledge and Evaluation Manager, The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven

Mary Stuart, Director, Well Being 360 and Health Equity Program Officer, Curtis D. Robinson Center for Health Equity, Saint Francis Hospital/Trinity Health of New England